Our web site will be unavailable starting on 7/25/2014 at 5:00 PM due to scheduled electrical maintenance.
Lobbying Compliance Division
Customer Service: 919-807-2170


NEW! Mandatory Electronic Filing for registrations, registration amendments, reports and report amendments for lobbyists and lobbyist principals became effective October 1, 2013 as a result of recent legislatively enacted amendments to the NC Lobbying Laws.

Remember you can register for 2014 now.

Miscellaneous Fee Information:
  • As of April 1, 2011 the $2.00 Electronic Fee is not refundable.

Download PDFAmended Expense Report Electronic Filing Instructions
Download PDF2014 Expense Report Due Dates
Download PDFLobbyist / Principal Electronic Registration Instructions
Download PDFLobbyist / Principal Electronic Registration Instructions (with screenshots)
Download PDFLiaison & Solicitor Electronic Registration Instructions
Download PDFElectronic Expense Report Filing instructions (with screenshots)
Download PDFElectronic Expense Report Filing Instructions
Download PDF2013 Expense Report Due Dates
Download webpageGovernment Ethics and Campaign Reform Act of 2010

Click here for help downloading forms.

State Ethics Commission Advisory Opinions:

*As a courtesy, Association Executives of North Carolina has allowed us to post this advisory opinion to our website.

*As a courtesy, the Junior League of Raleigh has allowed this unredacted opinion to be posted on this website.

*As a courtesy, this unredacted opinion has been provided to us by the North Carolina Professional Lobbyist Association.

*As a courtesy, this unredacted opinion has been provided to us by the North Carolina Coalition for Lobbying & Government Reform.

This is the link to the official version of the Secretary of State’s permanent Lobbying Act rules published by the NC Codifier of Rules. The permanent rules were approved by the Rules Review Commission on November 15, 2007. The Lobbying Rules were effective on December 1, 2007.

The Department of the Secretary of State registers and regulates lobbying in North Carolina. The lobbyist registration fee is $250.00. The principal authorization and registration fee is $250.00. The principal pays only one principal registration fee for the first lobbyist. The principal only pays the $250.00 registration fee once, no matter how many lobbyists it may have.

Should any information supplied in a registration statement change, a supplementary registration is required to be filed within 10 days of the change. No fee is required for changes to existing registrations.

The NC Department of the Secretary of State has launched a list server, to offer the public another means of involvement as the department prepares to implement North Carolina's new lobbying law in January of 2007.  Subscribe to the NC Lobbyist List Server.

North Carolina State Ethics Commission 

If you need to go to the North Carolina State Board of Elections click here

send comments, suggestions, and requests to lobbyist@sosnc.com

For more information, please contact us at:

Lobbying Compliance Division
Department of the Secretary of State
PO Box 29622
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0626
(919) 807-2170