North Carolina Board of Nursing
The North Carolina Board of Nursing is committed to protecting the health and wellbeing
of the public through regulating the delivery of safe, effective nursing care.
Continuing Competence Coordinator
919-782-3211 ext 281
Below is a summary of the procedures, laws and guidelines to obtain a professional
business entity license through the NC Board of Nursing.
PLEASE REFER TO THE BOARD’S WEBSITE FOR EXPLANATIONS OF TYPES OF LICENSES
AND OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION.
Bookmark the link to the NC Board of Nursing for your future reference.
Procedure to Create a Professional Business Entity
- Download and complete the appropriate business entity creation document from the
Forms link on the Corporations Division website.
- Download and complete the appropriate application from the Professional Corporation/LLC
link found under the “Practice” on the NC Board of Nursing website.
- Submit to the State Board of Nursing any required supporting documentation and filing
fee in the amount of $50 to the NC Board of Nursing.
- The Board will examine both documents and if sufficient, will provide a certification
- Submit the creation document along with the Board’s certification letter to
the Corporations Division of the Secretary of State’s Office for filing with
either $125 for a domestic entity (North Carolina) or $250 for a foreign entity
receiving a Certificate of Authority.
- Return a filed copy of the Articles of Incorporation/Organization from the Secretary
of State’s Office. The Board will then issue the license.
North Carolina Statutes
Secretary of State
North Carolina Administrative Code
Secretary of State
- 18 NCAC 04 .0318 -Authorization of Foreign Professional Corporations
- 18 NCAC 04 .0502 -Words Prohibited in Addition to Statutory Prohibitions
- 18 NCAC 04 .0503 -Deceptively Similar and Distinguishable Names
- 18 NCAC 04 .0504 -Filing Fictitious or Assumed Name for Foreign Entity
NC Board of Nursing
Return to Main Page